What Have I Been Up To…

I know that other then the blog challenge and the news about A, I really haven’t written any posts about what’s been actually happening in my life. (Turns out the post is super long…sorry!!!)

If you read my protected post, you know there’s been drama on J’s side of the family and it continued last week from a different source, but I’m trying really hard to not let it bug me and to let it go.  Does anyone else have conversations in their heads with the person that’s pissing them off?  I hate confrontation, so I don’t usually say anything when these things come up…but I do have conversations with these people in my head like 3 times a day til I’m over it, lol.

This past Monday, J and I went out and celebrated Valentine’s Day so we didn’t have to deal with crowds today.  J found out that a theater in a town about 20 min away does $5 movie night on Mondays and they give you a free bag of popcorn too.  So for $13.50 we each got a ticket to see “American Sniper”, a popcorn, and we shared a soda.  The movie was amazing and heartbreaking and if you haven’t seen it yet, I encourage you to (as long as you haven’t actually been to war).  If you (or your SO) have been to war, and you (they) suffer from PTSD, you may one to either skip it or wait until it’s out on DVD.  After the movie, we headed to Outback because I had a 15% off coupon and I LOVE me a bloomin’ onion and their steak and lobster! 🙂  It was a good night and definitely needed.  J is in his last month of coaching for the school year (YAY!!!) but they have 2 games a week so he’s often not home until 7-7:30.  He also has a student teacher this semester so up until the last few days this week, he’s only been home for about 15-20 minutes for lunch and that is not nearly enough adult time for me during the day, lol.

I’m not sure if I mentioned it or not, but the 3 yr old and 4 mo old that I was thinking that I might have to let go, ended up leaving on their own.  It’ll be two weeks ago on Monday that I ended up with the stomach flu.  I let the parents know I was pretty sure I had come down with it but told them I would be staying open because so many of them and their kids had been out sick that I knew taking yet another day off would be tough for them.  3 families chose to still come and the other 2 didn’t.  One of them was that family.  I got a text from the Dad saying he was keeping them home and to please call him when I had the other kids down for a nap.  I knew right then that whatever it was, it probably wasn’t good.  Sure enough…the conversation basically left me feeling like I was rotten care provider even though I knew half of what he said was bull shit.  He basically said that there was too much inconsistency and it was making the 3 yr old act out at home and that they couldn’t keep taking time off of work.  That part, just really pissed me off.  There has only been 2 days that they weren’t here because of me and that was the Monday when I thought the miscarriage was starting and I closed for everyone and then that Thursday when the miscarriage was occurring and J stayed home in the morning to take care of the kids and I thought adding a baby would be too much for him and I asked them to stay home.  Otherwise, all the other days (which was pretty much a full week) was because one of their kids was sick.  Also, I’m here from 7am-5:30pm every day and yet they were bringing their kids at all different times every day so any inconsistency was on their part, not mine.  He wanted to only give a weeks notice and I told him no way, he’d give me the notice that is in my contract (which is 3 weeks).  Of course, I’m feeling awful from the flu and then this so I was on the phone with my Mom bawling after I got off the phone with him.  Later that night, his wife texted me and said she had just spoke with him and wasn’t comfortable with how the conversation was left and could I call her.  I was dreading it and J didn’t want me all upset again right before bed so I just texted her back and asked if we could talk the next day.  We spoke the next morning and it turned out that they had the 3 yr old on a wait list for a small center in the town they live in for the past year and a half and they had called the Friday before to say they had a spot for him and also the baby and they’d like to fill it with just one family.  All he was supposed to ask me is what I thought about it and what I thought was going to happen with getting licensed and adoption (that is not how the conversation went….AT ALL!!!!).  I told her that I completely understand if she wanted to pull the 3 yr old because my concern when she initially contacted me about care was that he would be my only older child and I am not doing curriculum with the kids yet because they are too young.  I said I didn’t think licensing would be a problem if she wanted the baby to stay with me.  They ended up pulling both.  She came that afternoon and dropped off a check for their notice and picked up the kids stuff.  It was the weirdest thing.  Honestly, except for losing out on close to $1200 a month that was going to start going into savings, I am so less stressed now that they are gone.  All in all, it worked out for the best.

Last weekend, we all started working on taxes.  This is a complicated process for us because of my businesses and always a source for of contention for J and I.   He always wants to do them on our own (I gave in last year) and I want to use a professional.  I finally got so annoyed with him about it last night that I said “Fine, you do them but if we get audited, you’re dealing with it and if we end up owing them money because of it…you’re figuring out how to pay it.”  I have 3 different businesses to figure out and I’m not the best record keeper through the year (huge fault of mine and one I need to work on).  We have medical expenses to figure out this year, our rental house, and the money that I took out of my Roth IRA to help pay off medical bills.  It’s a big undertaking and puts a lot of stress on both of us.

Here’s our project this weekend:

DSC_0352 DSC_0353 DSC_0355

This is what the sleeping room (the sheets divide the room so they can’t see each other when it’s time to nap.  There’s 2 more pack and plays that you can’t see.), the office (and changing room) and our living room typically look like during the week.  We are moving the daycare back to the sleeping room, the pack and plays into the office and the desk will go out to the living room.  I think taking away the things the kids are not supposed to do within will make better days for all of us.  I will post pictures when we get it all done.  Hopefully by tomorrow night.

Also, in the middle of the post, I stopped and went with J to meet a friend of his from hs that was in town for coffee.  It turns out that she’s an acupunturist and knows a ton about eastern medicine and herbs and what not.  She also uses Young Living oils which is AWESOME! 🙂  Anyways, she gave us a ton of information so when I post the after pics, I will let you know what she told us.  I hope you’re all having a fabulous weekend…I am off to get started on the dreaded office!

Lots of love~Dawn

10 thoughts on “What Have I Been Up To…

  1. Funny how the dad took the conversation in a totally different direction than his wife intended for it to go. I’m glad she had the sense to clarify that they were leaving because they had already signed up for another place, not because of you. When I owned my own practice, taxes were a nightmare for me to do, so I also hired an accountant. I don’t pay him much, and it saves me a headache. Good luck on your projects!

  2. Whoa. Lots has been happening. I completed missed the protected post though. I think those don’t show up in my reader or something. Would you email me the password? its thebarrenlibrarian@gmail.com

    also, I am totally with you on the tax professional. We started using one last year and it’s just such a weight off of my mind. We use a CPA that Chief knows from the base and he takes good care of us. We have complicated taxes too and we only pay this guy $50, so to me it is WELL worth it.

  3. Girrrl! That family was stressing me out! Yikes! I am so glad it is all over with and you are at peace with it again. And I can’t wait to see the after pics and hear of your conversation!! Xo

  4. Geesh, yeah, you’re better off without that family. I’m glad the wife had enough sense to try to make it better but wow, I would have flipped out on the husband.

    Taxes definitely not fun – especially with all the things you listed. I’m thankful ours are pretty simple!

    I also missed the password protected post – mind sending the email to akwoehl@q.com?

Leave a Reply

