Double Whammy

I got hit with a double whammy tonight and I just don’t know what to do.  I know what I would love to do, but unfortunately, financially, it can’t happen.

Tonight, not 1, but 2 families told me they’re pulling their kids in June.  It’s not because of me or the care I give, but it’s still really, really hard not to take it personally.   One family is the first family we took.  J and the Dad are good friends and the Mom and I have gotten very close too.  They have a little boy who will be 2 in June.  They are moving him to a center closer to their house.  And I get it, I really do.  It’s an inconvenience to bring him all the way here and they feel bad that he’s here so late when all my other kids are gone by 5pm.  I totally get it and although it was hard to hear, I was okay with it.  I would love to not be working til 5:30 at night.

Then, I got a text from another parent and they are pulling their little girl when she turns 2 and sending her to the same center as her brother.  Again, I get it, kind of.  I’m literally 2 minutes from the other center so it’s not a huge inconvenience for them to pick up at 2 different places.

Now, I’m completely afraid I’m going to lose a third because they are at 3 different daycares between their 3 kids and I’m so afraid as soon as she turns 2, they’ll pull her too.

Let me tell you, I ugly cried big time tonight.  It’s not just the financial side…I’ve seen D most days since he was 2 months old and E is just a sweet little cuddle bug.  I am going to miss them.  And I don’t want to have to replace them.  I don’t want to take on babies again because the kids were finally getting to the age where I was actually going to be able to do stuff with them again.

I honestly don’t want new kids at all.  I want to stick with the 2 I have and the part timer I’ll have starting in the fall, but I know we can’t afford that.  I’m going to have to advertise for new kids and it just sucks.  I hate it!

Sorry for the vent…just feeling a little heartbroken tonight and have so many conflicting emotions right now.

17 thoughts on “Double Whammy

  1. I am so sorry!! I think you are right, the parent’s decisions have nothing to do with you, but still, it sucks for you and it’s really too bad that the kids are also going to lose the one-on-one care you provide.

  2. You form such close relationships with these kids that you care for. It’s understandable that you are upset about it. I’m sorry, I know the timing is unfortunate. Sending you lots of love.

  3. Oh girl! Don’t you apologize for venting about this. I can’t imagine all the emotions you are going through. But I know God is going to turn this around for your good. Put your trust Him and watch Him go to work on your behalf. Hugs to you sugars!! Xo

  4. Sorry to hear this! It’s a sad part of providing that kind of care, watching them get bigger and move on. I have no doubt that you will find new wee ones to care for and to help keep the bills paid.

  5. Oh I’m so sorry. It’s so hard to love these kids and then have to let them go. Maybe you can stay connected on FB? That’s what my sister did with my nephew’s care providers when it was time for him to leave.

  6. I’m so sorry to hear this! An ugly cry is definitely needed every once in a while, so don’t even worry about it. It will all work out, but in the meantime it totally sucks 😦

Leave a Reply

