Day 5 of Whole 30

Well, unlike the timeline says, I have not felt like killing anyone on days 4 and 5, lol.  In fact, yesterday was surprisingly easy to stay compliant and just a good day overall.

In the morning, my neighbor who is a stay at home Mom of a 2 yr old girl and a 4 yr old boy came over to play out in the yard with us.  She is amazing and I’m so happy they moved in and I’ve gotten to know her.  She knows all about our infertility and miscarriage and has been so amazingly supportive!  She did find out a couple weeks ago that she is pregnant.  It was hard to hear, but only because I so desperately want us to be pregnant together.  She is a fantastic Mom so I’m very happy for them.  I just know that we would have had fun being pregnant together.  She’s only 6 weeks and already has a bit of a baby belly going on…it’s pretty cute.

Last night, a dear friend that used to be in my Young Adult bible group at my old church came over for a visit.  We haven’t seen each other since my wedding even though she just lives in the next town over.  We were going to go for a walk but ended up just sitting here catching up and chatting about infertility, adoption, and my parents (this topic came up because of a sermon this past Sunday at our Church).  Yes, we attend the same church here too and we still never see each other….It’s a huge church!!!  Justin and I made a Whole 30 compliant dinner and she stayed and ate with us.  It was a fantastic night.

I have screwed up a few times on this Whole 30 thing, but you know what, for once, I’m not beating myself up about it.  I’m eating 97% better than I have in an extremely long time and I’m psyched about that.  I don’t know if it’s eating better food or the beautiful weather or a little of both, but I have had a little more energy than I was last week.  I did finally make a couple meals yesterday that I really enjoyed.

There are times that I get to the point of being starving and that tends to be when I screw up, but with daycare it’s hard.  Especially now that we’re spending our mornings outside.  Sometimes, I’m just busy and by the time I’ve got them down for naps and can eat lunch, I’m ridiculously starved and healthy doesn’t sound good.  That’s the tough part about being at home, the house is still full of food, especially since J is not doing Whole 30 with me.

I suppose, I better get going because my Mom will be here in 45 minutes to take over for daycare for me.  J and I have yet another funeral to attend.  His 19 yr old cousin was killed in a car accident this past weekend.  That’s for another post though. If you could send prayers for J though, I would appreciate it.  This is the 4th person in less than a year that has died.  3 of them in car accidents.  I had just met this family for the first time at his Grandma’s funeral a couple weeks ago, but they were a beautiful family and I even thought that to myself when I met them.  It is just so sad and tragic.

I hope all is well with all of you!

Lots of Love~Dawn

8 thoughts on “Day 5 of Whole 30

  1. Sending you and J so much love, I am heartbroken to hear that you are on your way to yet another funeral. Wishing you and J and all of J’s family support and love through this really hard year.
    And, glad to hear you are doing so well on the Whole 30!! I figure if you’ve made it this far you can easily get through the rest of the 30 days. 🙂

  2. Sending prayers for J & his family. 4 people in less than a year is tough.

    Im glad you aren’t beating yourself up about not eating healthy 24/7. It happens to all of us.

Leave a Reply

