Heartbroken

On August 7th, it will be 5 years since my Dad passed away.  When his wife decided to sell their house, she held a rummage sale and hired people to run it so she didn’t have to be there.  J and I decided to go and check it out.  I found this cup there:

IMG_2556 IMG_2557

We bought him this coffee cup one year for either his Birthday or Father’s Day, I can’t remember which.  I just remember I was pretty darn young when we got it for him.  I love having this cup and drinking coffee from it.  I just feel closer to my Dad when I do.

Today, this happened:

dadscup

I was outside with the kids and was sitting in an adirondack chair and had it sitting on the arm of it next me.  Miss C came up and knocked it to the ground and it broke.  Ladies, I cried like he’d died all over again.  That probably seems a bit silly but I was and still am just heartbroken.  Yes, we can try and glue it back together, but I doubt I’ll be able to ever drink coffee from it again.    I have many mementos from my Dad, heck, we have a shrine to him and his military career over our fireplace, but that coffee cup was just very special to me.  Anyways, I don’t know, it just hit me really hard.  I called my Mom and was crying so hard I couldn’t even get out what happened.  Needless to say, I gave her a bit of a scare, lol.

This is also Miss C’s last day.  😦  Although I am the one to chose to have them go to a new daycare because I didn’t want to keep working so late every day, I am still very sad to see her go.  She is cute as a button and her family is just so awesome.  J and I are going miss her bunches!

I will end this post on a brighter note though….I get to go pick up my car today when I get off work!!!!  Yay…and J is home safe and sound from DC (and off mowing lawns already)!

Hugs~Dawn

25 thoughts on “Heartbroken

  1. Dawn, I can’t tell you how much I can relate to this post. Last summer my Mamma passed away at 98. I loved that woman to pieces and visited her every day until she died. But a few nights before she died and she was in the hospital, I went to her house to tidy some things up (she was life flighted to the hospital in the middle of the night) and I saw her coffee cup sitting next to the sink. It still had her old coffee in it. I knew she probably wasn’t going to be coming home so I dumped out the coffee, took the coffee cup home and have been drinking out of it ever since. Well, ever since my husband accidentally dropped it while putting away the dishes one night :/ Poor guy! I was in the bathroom getting out of the shower when I heard something break. I peaked my head out and asked what broke. He didn’t say a word. I then asked if it was the coffee mug and he took in a deep breath and that’s all it took for me to hit the floor and start bawling like a baby. I felt so bad for my reaction because I knew he already felt horrible. He has tried to glue it back together but there were way too many teeny tiny pieces. so girl…I get it. And it’s okay to cry about it. I still do. xo HUGS!!

  2. I am so sorry about your father’s mug! I know I’d be devastated too if I broke something special of my mom’s. If nothing else, I hope you can at least glue it back together and keep on a shelf somewhere. I know it wont fix it, but at least you can still have it in your house.
    And I hope you have fun picking up your new car tomorrow!

  3. I am so sorry, Dawn! That is so heartbreaking! My mom died three years ago in August. I have a bunch of clothes from her and I can’t ever get rid of any, even though I never wear them, because they’re all I physically have left of her. I’m so sorry this happened. Sending hugs and love to you!

  4. Omg, I can totally relate and it’s totally ok to cry about it. My older sister died in 2011 of pancreatic cancer and I have clothes and all sorts of things that I inherited from her. I particularly freaked out when this super ugly (and I mean uuuugly) ceramic vase that we made together when I was 7 and she was 15 broke during the move to our new house last September. I mean, I ugly cried over this completely hideous 26 year old vase that was a kitschy eyesore and my poor husband had to listen to me blubber about it for what probably seemed like forever. Hugs and so much love to you!

  5. I’m very sorry. I know it won’t be the same, but you can probably find a ton of ideas on Pinterest of things to do with the broken pieces. And maybe then you could still have a special momento.

Leave a Reply

