Weight Has Been Lifted

We did it!  We turned in all our paperwork this morning to the adoption agency.  It is such an amazing feeling to know that it’s done and no longer in my house (except for all the copies I made of everything, lol).  Our home study meeting is scheduled for August 13th and our classes are August 17th and 18th.  My goal is to have our portfolio done by then so we can immediately be available for Birth Parents to view our letter/portfolio.  The count down for the real waiting is on!

The other great news is that J’s incident with his ex when we first met shouldn’t be a problem (I was seriously worried about this because you just never know who’s going to hold stupid mistakes against you.).  Our fingerprint reports had already come back and we had printed off what the is public record to talk to her about it so she knew we weren’t trying to hide anything or cover it up.  It was an isolated incident and J totally owned up to his responsibility for his part in it and our social worker was very understanding.  She said that she obviously has to mention it in the home study but that we will get a copy to review before she finalizes it and we can let her know whether or not we’re comfortable with how she worded it.  Other than that, she just seemed impressed with how thorough we were with our paperwork and that we had everything there.

In other news, we got one huge project done this weekend.  We got the roommate’s room painted and put back together.  I wish that we didn’t need her rent money because I would like to move daycare down to the basement, but it’s hard to do because I don’t have a room for the infants to sleep in down there and I don’t want them upstairs while we’re playing downstairs, even with a monitor.  And we are most definitely NOT moving her bedroom upstairs.  She likes to eavesdrop to much as is.  I also got the playroom downstairs all cleaned out and the 2 toys shelves I have got re-painted.  There is still so much we haven’t gotten done and we are about out of money.  Especially, with the car repairs and doing all the different house projects.  The credit cards got racked up this month and J insists on paying them in full every month.  That’s all fine and good when we’re both working but when I’m down to 1 kid for the summer, it takes all our savings we have.  I need to re-new my Craigslist ad and hope to God I start getting some calls soon!  If I could just get a couple of more full timers for Fall, I’d be in good shape.

Hope you all are having a great week!

Lots of Love~Dawn

13 thoughts on “Weight Has Been Lifted

  1. I am so excited for you!!! Turning in all your paperwork is such a huge step! And I love that your social worker was understanding about the past, and that you will have the opportunity to review her wording in the entire home study (we had the same opportunity and we did make a few changes, they were minor, but important to us). Anyways, I hope you are able to find some way to celebrate this huge accomplishment!
    I am also really excited to hear that you finished up the huge project! I’m sure that’s such a relief! And, I hope you find another kid or two asap to help reduce your anxiety re finances.

    • Thank you so much! We had lunch at Applebee’s. J suggested Wendy’s for lunch and I was like, ummm….we’re celebrating a huge thing here, lol. Now it’s time to get the portfolio done! I see a scrapbook shopping trip in my near future!

  2. Yay! I am so excited for you! I can’t even imagine the relief you must feel to have all of that accomplished! I am praying that you get a couple more kiddos soon :). Xo

  3. Congratulations! I don’t know how it feels to send off adoption paperwork, but I know how it feels to have something weighing on you and to get it finished. So glad the past issue won’t be that big of a deal (at least that’s what it sounds like). Hurrah!

Leave a Reply

