Weekend Recap 10/02-10/05

My weekend was mostly pretty relaxing with some moments of  excitement and worry mixed in.

Let’s start with Friday night…I think I can’t remember what I did.  I was working on keeping a cold away so I’m pretty sure that I stayed home and chilled on the couch.  I’m pretty sure I finished “Felicity”, but that might have happened on Saturday.  I do know that we had our first fire of the season.

IMG_4587

Saturday, the day started off well with some intimate time with J.  Oh, except that I was in the living room and he called me into the bathroom and made it sound like something was wrong so I jumped off the couch and ran in there and well, you get the gist.  He said it was payback for the day I got the positive pregnancy test last December and woke him up out of a dead sleep with my screaming.

From there, the day kind of went down hill a bit.  First, J sucks at this no spend October thing.  While I was in the shower, he ran to the cafe down the road and got breakfast instead of us just making it here.  Then, he was grinding up a deer meat and the attachment piece of my kitchen aid broke.  Last year, he blew the motor in my old kitchen aid and we had to get a new one.  This year, the grinder works, and the main part of the kitchen aid works, but the motor in the attachment area wasn’t working correctly after awhile.  So off, we go to Farm and Fleet to buy a meat grinder.  It’s fantastic and fast and well worth the money, but again we weren’t supposed to spend money this month.  Oh, funny thing about the grinding of the meat.  One, my role in the process is supposed to be to cook and eat the meat.  However, J nicely asked if I would help package and seal it for the freezer.  So I’m standing next to him while he’s grinding meat (before the kitchen aid broke), and all of a sudden it just spits meat across the room and lands on my cheek.  So gross but I couldn’t help but laugh.  Here’s my meat spotted face and my hunter and provider.  Love this guy!!!

IMG_4588                                                          IMG_4589

The rest of Saturday was spent on the couch watching my new binge series, “The Mindy Project”, PitchPerfect and PitchPerfect 2.  Favorite part of PitchPerfect 2…easily the Green Bay Packer cameo.

Sunday, I slept in until almost 10am…it was heavenly.  Got up and made us pancakes while J worked on grinding more meat.  I went grocery shopping and then headed to Tomah to watch the Packer game with my Mom (We won…4-0 Baby).  Shortly after we got there, we got a call from a friend of my Sister’s trying to get a hold of her.  We gave her K’s home # and then she called back a couple minutes later to say she forgot to tell us why she’s trying to get a hold of her.  It turns out my BIL was in an ATV accident.  At that point all she knew was that he was conscious and they were on their way to a hospital in a town about 30 minutes away.  We got a hold of K and somebody had gotten a hold of her and she was on her way out the door to go.  She was supposed to be starting a class that night on this amazing book so I took over for her on that.  Anyways, around 5:30 we finally heard from her that he has a severely broken shoulder and collar bone.  He sees the surgeon tomorrow morning.  Thank God he had his helmet on because otherwise he would more than likely be either paralyzed or dead.  Prayers are absolutely appreciated!

So, more on this book and class/small group we’re doing.  The book is called Oola: Find Balance in an Unbalanced World.  It’s AMAZING!!!!  K and I started reading this on our way to the Young Living Convention in August and then we actually got to attend the Oola Guys class and get our picture taken with them and our books signed.

IMG_4386 P1060020

I highly recommend this book to everyone.  It’s all about finding balance in the 7 key areas of life:  Fitness, Finance, Faith, Field, Family, Fun, and Friends.  If you want to check out their website, it’s:  www.oolalife.com

Last night we read the first couple chapters together and then just went around and talked about which “F” we need the most help with, which one we feel good about and what we’re hoping to get out of the class.  It was all good and I’m looking forward to connecting with these other women each week.

I hope you all had a great weekend!

Lots of Love~Dawn

7 thoughts on “Weekend Recap 10/02-10/05

    • Lol, I’ve done just fine, my hubby on the other hand has bought breakfast, a meat grinder and last night, a cross bow. 😦 He sucks at it which is slightly hilarious to me because I thought I’d be the one having a really hard time with it.

  1. Def prayers for your BIL. I watched PP2 last weekend and loved it. It was the only movie that I wanted to see in the theater this year, and I didn’t get too so I was determined to watch it the minute it came out on dvd.
    My least fav part about cooking is handling raw meat…I would have freaked if it got on my face. Good for you for laughing about it!

Leave a Reply

