Advice Needed

To start with, I have a quick question for y’ll because I can’t remember from my last surgery.  Is your next cycle supposed to be heavier than normal after you have one? I started AF 3 days ago quite unexpectedly.  I was only a day early, but apparently wasn’t paying attention and didn’t realize I was so late in the cycle.  I’m usually medium flow d1 and light flow til day 3 or 4 and then I’m done.  Well, it’s heavy this month.  It started heavy and it’s still heavy.  Like totally forgot after my shower to put in a tampon and was soaked through my sweats when I went to the bathroom.  Usually I’m pretty much done with it by the end of today.

Secondly, I’ve started researching breastfeeding an adopted child.  For some reason, I really want to try and do this which blows my mind because at one point in my life, I was adamant that I did not want to breastfeed…at all.  Obviously, there are some challenges with this.  1.)  I’m not going to be naturally getting the hormones to induce lactation and 2.) we’re adopting so therefore, I have no idea when this baby will come to us or how much notice we’ll even have.

So, my question is…have any of you ever done this or know someone that did?  Did you/they use a prescription to help get started or did you/they just pump/hand express to get the milk flowing and how successful were you/they?  Did you have to supplement quite a bit with formula?  Was it worth it?  If anyone has any advice for me, I would truly appreciate it.

P.S.  Totally loving “The Mindy Project”!!!  🙂

Lots of Love~Dawn

18 thoughts on “Advice Needed

  1. I love the Mindy Project too! I have heard of many women successfully inducing lactation. The reference above it a good one. Good luck!

  2. There are a lot of women who try to induce lactation, sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t. I’ve decided to not even try so I don’t have good resources for you. But, I see you are getting advice on that topic so I hope you find the information you are looking for! I hope it works for you!
    And the Mindy Project is awesome! I love it too! 🙂

    • Thank you! I’ve started reading the blog above and it looks like you’re on birth control for about 6 months if you go the medication route. At this point, I’m not willing to do that because the 6 months after surgery are when my fertility is at its highest. I think the hardest part about this is I don’t even know when to start it. It could be 2 yrs or more before we’re chosen. I guess I will just have to play it by ear or try it the non-hormone way when the baby gets here. 🙂

    • Thank you, MPB! As you know, we just have no idea what the timeline or circumstances will be around the adoption, so this may just be a pipe dream. I guess I’ll get as much knowledge as I can on the subject and just see what the future brings. As for as the Mindy Project…oh gosh…I just can’t get enough of it!

  3. Ah, I’m late to the party. Was going to suggest Arwen’s blog but everyone else beat me to it!

    One thing I would say: as someone who was adopted as a baby a few days after birth, I was not breastfed. And I’m fine. I’m bonded with my mum just fine and I really can’t see a difference between the closeness of me and my sib #2 and the other two bio kids, with my parents. We are all equally part of the family. So I wouldn’t feel that it is the be all and end all. I was ill shortly after I was born so I could only have soya milk anyway. I didn’t have dairy until I was older.

    • Thank you, Nara. I think it’s not so much that I’m a breast is best believer, but more because I just don’t want one more option taken away from me kind of thing. I was a formula fed baby and I turned out just fine also. I think circumstances for the most part is going to dictate what I end up doing. I’m sure either way, I will more than likely have to supplement anyways. 🙂

  4. A friend of mine tried to do induce lactation but it didn’t work, they ended up wanted to still use breast milk so they went to a location where they donate and was able to get a over 100 oz. We have decided to try formula for more reasons than one but mostly because we don’t have a “timeline” of when our child will be here. So that is the hard part for us. Hopefully you find out what will work best for you : ) Good Luck.

  5. Omg I LOVE the Mindy Project!! I think high doses of Domperidone will induce lactation, but I’m not sure how quickly it will establish a decent supply. You could use formula for a while until you’re able to make enough.

    After my D&E, I bled pretty steadily and heavily for a week I think. The next period after that was medium throughout. I usually have a medium day, then two heavy days, then light and nothing.

    • Oh my gosh…I can’t get enough of it! I am so glad HULU picked it up because I’d be so sad if I got through all the episodes and that was that. I’m on season 3 right now. AF finally started tapering off last night…Thank God!

Leave a Reply

