Hurts So Good

No, not the John Mellencamp song (although it is now running through my head), but my body.  I’m feeling muscles that I have not used in a very long time.  And they are all sore.  Monday night was my first night back in a gym.  I did 15 minutes of elliptical before I couldn’t take my numb feet anymore.  Then I headed over to a few different leg machines and did 3 sets on each.  I did between 10-15 reps and between 25-40lbs. depending on the machine.  I then went into the group class room and did a tutorial video on spinning.  Tuesday morning, my legs were a tiny bit sore, but not much.

Tuesday evening, I went in for a pilates class.  Oh my gosh…all the muscles!!!  I was definitely dripping sweat by the end of it.  I did realize I need a thicker mat (which luckily the gym has) because just a yoga mat on the hardwood is very hard on my fibromyalgia filled body.  My butt and hips especially feel like one big bruise so when those points have extra pressure on them from the different moves, it didn’t feel so great.  Pilates is every Tuesday/Thursday at 6pm.  I can’t go tonight (Family Promise meeting) or next Thursday (leaving for CT…YAY!!!).  But I will definitely go back again on Tuesday.  I’m going to try and go tonight before my meeting to at least get some activity in.  I might try to fit a hydromassage in also.

Food is still my hard part.  I did pick carrots and hummus for a snack over junk food on Monday and I got all my water in on Monday and Tuesday.  Wednesday was a fail around, but I did finally get chicken cooked up and shredded so I can make some healthier lunches.  I haven’t stayed within my daily points a single day yet and I’m pretty sure if I would’ve finished tracking yesterday, all my weekly points will be gone also.  Lunch continues to be my biggest problem because by the time I get the kids down for naps and can eat, I’m starving and just want something delicious that feels filling to me and that never includes health stuff.

A couple other things that have happened that I can’t remember if I told you about:

  1.  I have an appt. with a Naturopath on Nov. 16th.  Hopefully this will just help me on my journey of a happier/healthier me.  What I love is that she also used Young Living oils/products.
  2.   We have a phone consult with CNY Fertility out in New York on November 3rd at 6:30am.  This also happens to be our 3 yr Anniversary and I have my Fitness Consultation that night with the trainer at the gym so it is going to be a full day.
  3.   I am so proud of my husband and I know this is going to completely give away our identity and location but I must share this news clip with you.  http://www.news8000.com/sports/West-Salem-helps-teammate-with-special-needs-tackle-dream/35954128

Hopefully that link will work.

Have a great weekend!

Lots of Love~Dawn

15 thoughts on “Hurts So Good

  1. First, good for you for trying to get into the gym and eat a bit healthier! Second, I hope your consult goes well. And lastly, your husband is clearly a very special coach and an amazing man! This story brought a tear to my eye.

  2. Great Job! I am exactly the opposite of you. I do soooo well on food and am totally lacking in exercise. I have managed to go for a few walks but that’s it. I am super proud of you! Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

