Got My First Troll Y’all!

I’m not going to give her the satisfaction of actually approving her comment, but I’ll copy and paste it for you.

“I found your blog from a comment you made on another blog I read. OMG! I have a Bachelor’s degree in Early Childhood Education and have been a preschool director for the past 12 years. CIO neglects the child’s needs and sense of secure attachment. It’s no surprise that you are struggling to keep your little home daycare occupied. Get a clue Dawn. Just because you don’t want to attend to a crying child’s needs does not mean the child should just suck it up and stop crying. Yes, they do stop crying eventually. But that doesn’t mean that CIO works. NOBODY can continue crying forever!!! The saying that some people really shouldn’t have kids is true fatty boom batty. Oh and fibromyalga is a mental disorder for people seeking attention and pain pills.”

First of all, CIO does not neglect a child’s needs, obviously, CIO Method (which by the way is actually called the Ferber method, not CIO) is used when you know the baby has been fed, changed and is tired.  You also don’t just leave the baby crying by itself for however long it takes for them to put themselves to sleep.  You go in every 10-15 minutes to let them know that you are still there, they are learning to sooth themselves to sleep.  Being able to sooth themselves is a skill that can be used in a variety of situations thought their lives.  It is also used to get a child on a schedule which is just not a bad thing no matter how you look at.  If you don’t want to do it that way, it’s fine, by all means, do it however you want, like I said, it’s my opinion and I don’t judge other people on how they want to do it with their child at home.  Second, she’s been a preschool director for 12 years.  That means, the children in her care are 3-5 years old.  A Bachelor’s degree in Early childhood doesn’t get you hands on experience with infants.  I have been taking care of children for 27 years.  Including, several babies on top of 9 nieces and nephews.  When a baby is old enough to be on a schedule, this works and I’ve never had a parent have a problem with it.  In fact, several of my parents have also used the Ferber method.  She also, I’m guessing, has no clue what it’s like to own a in-home daycare.  I don’t have co-teachers or assistants.  I do it all myself.  It has nothing to do with not wanting to meet the children’s needs.  The children in my care are happy, playing and laughing all day long.  My parents pick up happy children in the afternoon and their kiddos are happy to come to me in the mornings when they get dropped off.  They talk about me while they are at home and even choose to pray for me at bedtime.  Having trouble finding daycare children has nothing to do with my care and everything do with the fact that I can’t take on several babies which is what the biggest need is in my area.  I don’t even know what the “fatty boom batty” is supposed to mean.  And the fibromyalgia comment is just pure ignorance on her part and wouldn’t see be surprised to hear that I don’t pop pills for it.  I have never once taken a pill for fibromyalgia and anyone that has thoroughly read my blog knows that I hate taking pharmaceuticals unless absolutely necessary (like to have a baby).

So Ladies, I hope no one else was offended my post yesterday.  The funny thing is when I started thinking about writing that post, I was really just wondering, am I going to have those fist time nerves and that anxiety that so many first time Mom’s have?  Will those come into play because it’s finally my child or will my experience stop that from happening?

Hope you all have a Happy Friday and nobody else gets trolled today!  🙂

Lots of Love~Dawn

39 thoughts on “Got My First Troll Y’all!

  1. Some people are just rude and dumb, don’t let them bother you! I have mixed feelings about CIO, but every parent and baby is different and it’s this kind of hatefulness that continues these stupid mommy wars! Calling you names and accusing someone with an invisible illness of being some sort of drug addict just shows how ignorant this bachelor-degree-toting troll really is.

    • Thank you, Sweets! I actually found the whole thing kind of funny. I have people from my old daycare that have been begging me to come back because their family is growing. This woman just does not have a clue!

  2. Do you know you can permanently blog their IP address/email address so you wont ever get another comment from them? I figure I don’t need to read someone’s hate, so I’ve done this to a few people.
    Also, my friend, parenting isn’t easy, judgement comes from everywhere. I don’t even have a kid, but I firmly believe this to be true!! So, keep doing what you believe is right for you and your family and I know you will be an awesome mommy!!

  3. Oh my goodness that is scary that this petty and ignorant lady is helping raise our youth. Gee I wonder why young kids are learning to cyber bully and be negative… I refuse to engage other than to say you are way to elevated to get down in the weeds or under the bridge with this troll. Love to you and happy Friday!

  4. Wow people are unreal. ITs amazing that someone can’t disagree with your opinion without a personal attack (based on nothing). Those comments are so unnecessary and I’m sorry you had to read something like that. Even when its completely untrue it doesn’t feel good to be attacked. You are awesome and keep posting!!! XOXO.

  5. First of all my aunt suffers from fibromyalgia and doesn’t pop any pills or seeks attention. She rather be home than deal with the pain around people who will add on to her bad day. Secondly, everyone has different ways to raise their child and whatever works for them is the best for both the child and momma. People need to stop judging one another’s parenting/caring abilities unless there’s abuse involved I don’t see why it should bother her on your perspective. And lastly I can’t believe she would write such a non friendly comment working with kids…I hope she doesn’t have that same attitude when a parent is complaining about bullying.

  6. Wow! That is just crazy. This lady must be miserable in her life. Because only miserable people treat others this way. They find some kind of instant gratification of putting others down. She is just a hideous person and I feel sorry for all the children and workers that this person manages. Because she probably tries to make their life miserable too.

    Anyways I am glad you are not letting her ignorance and miserableness get to you. I wouldn’t even think twice about it. That crap isn’t worth your time.

  7. Thank you! That’s the same thing I was thinking. You have to be awfully miserable in your own life to attack someone you don’t even know. She clearly just picked parts out of my blogs and doesn’t actually follow and read all of my posts. I rarely post about the fibromyalgia.

  8. Woah – no one needs to spread hate around like that!!! I get that not everyone agrees with Cry it out or Ferber and not everyone agrees with the opposite for which I have not clue what the technical term is (- mollycoddling? That’s probably the extreme). Sure, discuss and debate the merits, science, pros, cons etc. But to be nasty about it is just truly sad. I have no idea what fatty boom batty means but for some one who has a bachelors degree I expect better. And…if you are going to brag about your education level, I’m sorry, but I’d expect a director of 12 years to have a masters degree by now.
    Sorry that you received that kind of comment, but your followers know you better than that – keep on blogging hon 🙂 X

    • Thank you, Dear! Yes, I’m not sure why she felt the need to write what she did. People can respectfully disagree on things, we see it all the time in our blogging world. I’m so happy, that for the most part, everyone is supportive. Couldn’t make it through this journey without my real friends within our community here. 🙂

    • I know, I just shook my head at that comment. It can be brought on by a physical or mental trauma (in my case, my chiro thinks my Dad passing away may have triggered it), but that’s about as far as it goes for a mental disorder.

      • You know…it also perpetuates the stigma around mental illness in its entirely, which makes me very angry.
        As if that is some inevitable failing on someone’s part.
        You may not have one & fibro certainly is NOT a mental illness ROFL but this person’s ignorance is never ending…I HATE trolls. I kind of take my dad’s mindset on them, “Come say it to my face.” Don’t hide behind a computer screen with your fake name

Leave a Reply

