Disappearing Act

So, I suck…I’m sorry I dropped the news bomb of the failed adoption and then disappeared for the most part.  I’ve just been trying to either completely immerse myself in Gilmore Girls so that I don’t have to think or I’ve been working on Family Promise or my Young Living business.

My current goal for my Young Living business (besides helping people change their lives) is to be able to not worry about getting new daycare kids next school year if any of my current leave after this school year.  Our goal for Family Promise is to open January 1st!  We have a lot to do before then but we finally seem to have a team that’s willing to work hard to get it done in the next 5 months.  Lots of exciting stuff happening (including having Fridays off this year!!!).

What else?  J and I are working on our relationship.  It’s been a bit of a rough summer with me being in recovery and everything that went down.  We deal with it in very different ways and not always in healthy ways.  We’re working on better communication, spending time together and just getting back to being us.

Last Tuesday, I went to dinner with some girlfriends from my old church.  We used to get together every couple months for dinner when I lived in my hometown, but since I’ve moved, it’s been much less frequent.  In fact, I think it’s been close to 2 years since we’ve met up for dinner.  In all honestly, I should have begged off this time too.  Two of them have children and the 3rd is 34 weeks.  I was already a little hurt going in because I didn’t get an invite to her baby shower.  This is the woman that was with me when I got the news that my Dad had passed away and we ran our small group for youth group together.  Although they were very sympathetic to what we’ve been going through, most of the conversation revolved around their children, pregnancy, childbirth and breastfeeding.  Most of the time, I can handle that kind of thing like a champ, but in this case, it was just too soon after the failed adoption and my soul just ached by the end of dinner.  Needless to say, I don’t think I’ll be putting myself in that position again anytime soon.

Well, J wants me to be ready in a couple minutes to go show me something so I better get going.  Please head over to my new blog and follow me there too!  I’ll be doing a new post on this book that some of my team members have been raving about  (hopefully it’ll happen tonight yet)!  🙂

Sending you all lots of love!

~Dawn

12 thoughts on “Disappearing Act

  1. You have every reason to disappear because wiht everything that you’ve been through recently, you simply need to do whatever is best for you. And if that means taking some time away from blogs, that’s completely okay. Know that I’m thinking of you and J and desperately hoping you get some happy news soon. Sending my love.

  2. Big hugs for you!! It must have been hard after everything to have sit and be part of those kind of conversations 😔…
    I always think of you when I pick up my bottle of lemon oil!! And a diffuser kit is still on my birthday wish list!
    I love that you and J are spending you time together…resets in everyday are good, you guys have been through so much, you deserve a break! 😊

    • Thank you, Dani! It was…I know it wasn’t on purpose and I’m sure they didn’t think anything of it because I normally participate just fine in those conversations, but in this moment in my life, it was just too much. Ah, lemon…love it so much! Let me know when you’re ready and I’ll help you get started! 🙂 In the meantime, if you’re not following my other blog yet, that will give you lots of info on YL’s products while you’re waiting. 🙂

  3. I’ve been thinking of you but of course I see you on FB so I knew you were OK(ish). I’m sorry your attempt to get out resulted in your wishing you had stayed in. It’s always disappointing when the people around you can’t find a way to steer the conversation in a direction that is inclusive and sensitive to everyone at the table.

  4. Sorry your fun night out with the girls wasn’t so much… That stinks. But it sounds like you are slowly immersing in regular life and moving forward in healthy ways. I imagine it’s difficult not to just wallow. I think it’s what I would want to do! Still wishing you all the best!

  5. I know what it’s like to need to fade back for a bit. You need to do whatever is right for you. You’ve had a really emotional summer, and it’s understandable that you need a break. Things will start to look up, and in the meantime there is a community of ladies here who care about you a whole lot. *hugs*

Leave a Reply

