3 Weeks

Our Sweet Little A is 3 weeks old today and these have been the best 3 weeks of my life!

It is so clear to us that A was meant for us.  It is clear why the other adoption failed.  This little girl is so incredibly chill.  Dogs barking/howling, kids screaming and she just sleeps right through it all (and yes, she passed her hearing test).  She handles the chaos of our life like a champ!

We have been home for almost 2 weeks now.  J had to work last week and he left for an already scheduled hunting trip out West last night and won’t be home til Sunday so I’m single Mommying it for a few days.  Baby Girl is attending her first Young Living event this weekend.  We leave tomorrow after work and we get back late Saturday night.  Since she pretty much just eats and sleeps, I expect this won’t be too difficult.

Sleeping:  Like a champ most of the time.  We’ve had 2 difficult nights but difficult in the sense that she wanted to be held while sleeping, not in her bed.  The first time, I was up for a long time just holding her, the 2nd time we brought her into bed with us and she just cuddled into the crook of my arm, which brings me to the Owlet Monitor…OMG…I love that thing.  It gives me the peace I need at night to be able to sleep (well, for the most part).  So yeah, that 2nd night when she was in bed next to me, the alarm went off.  Talk about 2 adults jumping up fast!!!  There was nothing noticeably wrong with her but my phone said she had low oxygen levels.  And of course, she had finally fallen into a deep sleep so getting her to respond to us was not easy!  I am so glad that J was good with me getting that monitor though because it really has been a sleep saver.  She gets up a couple times of night for a bottle.  If it gets to be 4 hours since the last one, then we wake her up for it.

Eating:  She is steadily eating 60 cc’s a feeding (2 oz).  She was up to 6lbs 3oz at her Dr. appt last Friday.  We go back again in a week for a weight check.

The dogs are dealing well with her.  Bandit always comes up to lay on us by her and Rocky officially has gone into guard dog mode by barking at every single little thing outside.  Daycare is a little difficult but only because I would rather spend the whole day cuddling with her, lol.

J is an amazing Daddy and you can just see the love he has for her.  He takes his turns getting up in the night with her without complaint.  I am a little tired but loving my role as Mommy.

Our court date is Nov. 8th so we are just praying that all goes smoothly.  We’ve texted with BM a couple of times and she seems to be holding steady in her decision.  Hoping it will stay that way and that BD doesn’t give us any trouble.  Nov. 8th cannot come soon enough!!!

We took her to Church for the first time this past Sunday and that was a dream come true for me.  I’ve been waiting a long time to have a baby to snuggle and sing to during worship time.  She is being thoroughly loved on and spoiled by our friends and family and I can’t wait for the day that we get to make that FB announcement that she is our daughter.

All in all, she is an amazing little girl that smiles lots already, tries to lift her head frequently and likes to try and roll over already.  We love her so much!!!

I hope you all are well.  I am trying to get caught up on all your blogs.  🙂

Lots of Love~Dawn

 

17 thoughts on “3 Weeks

  1. I am so happy for you!!!! I’ll be sending all my love and hope that November 8 comes and goes without any hiccups! I just want this little girl to be your forever little girl she sounds like she’s meant for you and J!! 😁❤

  2. Wow. I couldn’t be more pleased for you. It sounds like you’re settling into a lovely little family routine. It’s clearly meant to be. Wishing you every happiness and the outcome you all deserve on the 8th November. 😊

  3. Hope things are going well. I keep thinking of you and your husband and baby A. Praying things are going well and that November 8th goes well too. November 8th is my dad’s birthday and my husbands is the 9th.

Leave a Reply

